American Assembly of Men in Nursing


American Assembly of Men in Nursing

AAMN is the only professional organization for nurses that has improved gender inclusion in nursing profession by offering an environment of belongingness and collective learning for its members to excel in the profession.

Whats New

Please join the Future of Nursing: Campaign for Action for a webinar on

Your Action Coalition: Multiply Through Messaging

Wednesday, February 18, 2015 | 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. EST

(2:00-3:00 CST, 1:00-2:00 MST, 12:00-1:00 PST, 11:00-12:00 AKST, 1 0:00-11:00 HAST)

Jumpstart 2015 with a recruitment drive that's powered by tried and tested messages. Learn how to reach and engage diverse nursing audiences-(1) young nurses, (2) experienced nurses with ADNs, (3) African-American and/or Latino nurses, and (4) new Action Coalition members who can help advance the future of nursing. During this lively webinar, we'll share findings from national message testing and show you how the right words, delivered in the right way, can win the support of your fellow nurses and inspire them to embrace their leadership potential.

For More Information Click Here

AAMN was selected as a founding member of the Nurses on Boards Coalition, a group of national nursing organizations working together to increase nursesí presence on corporate and non-profit health-related boards of directors throughout the country.

Chapel Hill Celebrates 25 Years As An AAMN Chapter

A presentation of the certificate acknowledging the longest serving Chapter of the American Assembly for Men in Nursing was made in Chapel Hill, NC to the University of North Carolina Hospital and Nursing School today [1 December, 2014]. Awarded at the AAMN Annual Meeting in St. Louis, MO in October, AAMN Chairman, Edward J. Halloran, made the presentation to Dr. Eric Hodges and Dean Donna Havens. The Chapter was formed in 1989 by nurses from UNC Hospitals and the Chapel Hill Nursing School to educate the public about careers for men in nursing and to support the brotherhood of men in the nursing profession.

From Left to Right: Eric Hodges, Chapter President, School of Nursing Dean Donna Havens and AAMN Chairman Edward Halloran Dr. Eric A. Hodges, RN was the first man ever promoted on the tenure-track in the 64 year history of the School of Nursing in Chapel Hill.

During the AAMN 39th Annual Conference in St. Louis, the following award winners and Luther Christman Fellows were recognized:

2014 Award Winners:

  • The Gene Tranbarger Writing Award: Brent MacWilliams, PhD, RN, ANP, Bonnie Schmidt, MSN, RN, and Michael Bleich, PhD, RN, FAAN, FANP
  • The Lee Cohen Member of the Year Award: O. Danny Lee, PhD, APRN-BC, CNE
  • The Luther Christman Award: William T. Lecher, MBA, MS, RN, NE-BC

2014 Luther Christman Fellows:

  • Michael Bleich, PhD, RN, FAAN, FANP
  • Jerry Durham, PhD, RN
  • Dale Pfrimmer, MS, RN, NE-BC
  • Michael Rysavy, BSN, BA, RN, PHN
  • John Scott, BA, RN

Congratulations to our 2014 award winners and Luther Christman Fellows.

AAMN Announces 2014-2015 Board of Directors:

  • President: Bob Patterson, MSN, RN
  • Vice President: Lavoy Bray, MEd, RN
  • Treasurer: Anthony Roberson, PhD, RN, PMHNP-BC
  • Secretary: Jonathan Lee, BSN, RN
  • Chairman of the Board: Ed Halloran, PhD, RN
  • Immediate Past-President: William T. Lecher, MBA, MS, RN, NE-BC

Board Members:

  • John Brion, PhD, RN
  • Jerry Browne, BSN, RN
  • Robert Hess, PhD, RN
  • Jason Mott, PhD, RN
  • Mark Romportl, RN
  • Eric Williams, DNP, RN, CNE

New AAMN Board Members - Press Release