top of page
AAMN LOGO 10X10 INCHES 360pix .png

AAMN's 2023 Election Results

AAMN's newest president was guaranteed a second term, the secretary won reelection, and three new at-large board members were chosen in the 2023 election that concluded May 31. Here's a recap of the results:

PRESIDENT-ELECT: Jason Mott, PhD, RN -- Mott began his term as president in October and ran unopposed for president-elect. An AAMN member since 2012, Mott is the assistant dean of the pre-licensure program at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh.


SECRETARY: Robert Adams, MSN-Ed (c), BSN, RN, CEN, LP -- Adams secured his second term as AAMN secretary by defeating four other challengers. He is also chairperson of AAMN's Education and Conference Planning Committee. He works as a registered nurse for UT Health East Texas.


AT-LARGE BOARD: Doug Dascenzo, DNP, RN, CENP -- Dascenzo serves as regional chief nursing officer for Trinity Health in Trinity, Mich. He is also active in mentoring students in the AAMN chapter at Washtenaw Community College.

Benjamin Njoku, BSN, CCRN -- Njoku currently works for New York Health and Hospitals, Lincoln. In addition to AAMN, he is also a member of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, the New York Relief Network, and the New York State Nurses Association.


Carlos Serrano, MS, RN, CPNP-PC, CNE -- Serrano first joined AAMN more than 20 years ago. He is also a member of the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners. Serrano is a Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences Lecturer at the Rutgers University School of Nursing in Newark, NJ. He is also a certified nurse educator and a primary care pediatric nurse practitioner. 

All non-incumbent members will serve in an onboarding capacity during the summer. They will officially begin their terms at the conclusion of AAMN's 48th annual convention, Oct. 19-21 in New Orleans.

To request a copy of the vote totals, please send an email to











bottom of page